Note: The Auto-updater is a feature for Player version 8 and higher. It is going to make installing updates for your Player instance much easier.
Recommended Path: Auto-updates for Player
How to get the auto update:
- Each time Player opens or syncs training records with Manager, Player will check for updates.
- If an update is available, Player will start to download the update
- The update will start downloading silently in the background. Training can continue as planned.
- Please Note: You may receive this warning message when closing Player – “An update is currently being downloaded. Are you sure you want to exit?”
- Clicking Yes will stop the download and close Player. The download will begin again the next time Player is opened.
- Clicking No will keep Player open and keep downloading the update.
- Once the update has be downloaded, a yellow banner will appear under the tabs and remain until Player has been successfully updated.
- The updates can be launched by:
- Clicking the yellow update banner within Player if you are not about to start a training.
- Closing Player which will attempt to start the update automatically.
Disable the Auto Updater
By default, customers will get auto updates through Player. If you or your company wishes to disable the auto updates, please reach out to your Account Manager. Once disabled, you will receive email communications about future updates.
To receive updates without the auto updater enabled:
- Manually download the update using the Alchemy provided URL provided in the email communication or by Client Support.
- Once the zip file has been downloaded, please extract all contents of the file to your computer.
- Close Player and run the setup from your local drive.
- If you do not have computer Admin rights for the Player computer, a computer Admin will need to enter the username/password credentials when prompted to proceed.