Note: You have two options when it comes to updating Player, Auto-updates or Manual updates. The recommended practice is to use the auto-update feature, but if your company has it disabled, follow the steps in Update without Auto-update. This feature is available in Player version 8 and higher.
Auto-updates for Player
Each time Player opens or syncs training records with Manager, Player will check for updates. If an update is available, Player will start to download the update.
- The update will start downloading silently in the background. Training can continue as planned.
- If you attempt to close Player while the update is downloading, you may receive this warning message when closing Player – “An update is currently being downloaded. Are you sure you want to exit?”
- Clicking Yes will stop the download and close Player. The download will begin again the next time Player is opened.
- Clicking No will keep Player open and keep downloading the update.
- Once the update has been downloaded, a yellow banner will appear under the tabs and remain until Player has been successfully updated.
- The updates can be launched by:
- Clicking the yellow update banner within Player if you are not about to start training.
- Closing Player, which will attempt to start the installation automatically.
Update without Auto-update
By default, customers will get auto updates through Player. If you or your company wishes to disable the auto updates, please reach out to your Account Manager. Once disabled, you will receive email communications about future updates.
- Manually download the update using the Alchemy provided URL provided in the email communication or by Client Support.
- Once the zip file has been downloaded, please extract all contents of the file to your computer.
- Close Player and run the setup from your local drive.
- If you do not have computer Admin rights for the Player computer, a computer Admin will need to enter the username/password credentials when prompted to proceed.