Player is the software used for group-based training sessions with remote controls (or individually, using Kiosk Mode). It is directly connected to the Manager and works offline to better support your training sessions. Learn more about how to use the Player below.
Set up Group Training
To prepare your group-based training sessions, follow the steps below:
Adjust Settings (Main Tab)
- Download the activities.
- Connect the base station to the training computer using the USB cable.
- Check if the
icons are green.
For detailed information on adjusting your Presentation Options, enabling Kiosk Mode, and changing the Worksite, please refer to the FAQ options. For the password, please contact your organization's Alchemy champion.
Select Activities (Activities Tab)
- Check the boxes next to specific courses; or
- Select the Learning Plan with previously scheduled activities.
- If a yellow link icon appears next to a course, navigate to the Download section to download the course file first.
Enroll Users (Enrollment Tab)
- Search for a specific user and click on their name.
- Ask the user to press and hold the registration button
.
- Click
and select the name of the person who will facilitate the training. To assign a remote control to the facilitator, click on their name again.
If an employee does not appear in the user list, click Add Users. Enter their First Name, Last Name, and a Temporary ID (Format: First letter of the first name + Full last name + Training date. Example: A guest user named "Guest User" training on January 22nd would be "GUSER0122").
Play Activities (Play Tab)
- Adjust the final settings under Playlist Controls.
- Select
to launch the course.
Mid-session Changes
Remove Users
If a user needs to leave the course during the training session:
- Click the remote icon.
- Select the user to be removed and click Remove.
- The user's completion status will be updated to In Progress.
Change Remotes
If a remote stops working during the training session:
- Provide a new remote to the user.
- Click the remote icon.
- Select the user who needs to swap remotes and click Change.
- The user will press and hold the registration button on the new remote to connect it.
FAQ
How to adjust Presentation Settings
The presentation options allow you to set up standard elements for Player use, eliminating the need to reconfigure them each time. To adjust your settings, please refer to Recommended Presentation Settings.
How to set up Kiosk Mode
Kiosk Mode is one of our single-user options, designed for dedicated training devices. It allows a user to sign in to the Player application and complete assigned training activities without requiring a full workstation setup. Check the articles Kiosk Mode Setup and Using Kiosk Mode to explore that training option.
How to change worksites
In Player 8.4 and up, you can configure one or more worksites during the initial installation of the component or add them later as needed. If you manage training for multiple worksites, you can easily switch between them to access worksite-specific users and activities. Please refer to Configuring Player Worksite to get more information.
How to enable the Facilitator View
Facilitator View is a monitoring tool for live feedback on training progress. It is recommended only for rooms with multiple displays (screens). Please refer to the Facilitator View article to get more information.
How do I check the user's status right after the training?
The roster provides you with instant access to the training records in Player within a specific date range. Please refer to Roster Download to get more information.
How to manually upload the training records
When Player does not detect an active internet connection during a training session, the program saves the training data and any new users in backup files on that computer. To access these training records and new user information in your Manager website, you must upload those records manually from your Player. Please refer to Manual Training Upload to get more information.